Quick Directory Search

CHCCS School Social Workers/Family Specialists

Services offered:
Advocacy, Academic Support, After School/Child Care, Basic Needs (food, clothing), Enrichment, Health/Wellness, Parent Support, Summer Camp
Age of children and youth served:
5-12 Elementary Schools, 12-14 Middle School, 14-19 High School
Description: 

School Social Workers/Family Specialists play a crucial role in the CHCCS district by removing barriers to children’s academic, social and emotional success through our work with students, families, school faculty/staff, and community support agencies.  We play an integral role in the district’s efforts to close the achievement gap by supporting the most fragile students and families.  Social Workers provide this support through our direct work with families and children; our consultation and collaboration with school staff and participation on school teams; and our outreach and connections with community agencies and organizations. Many of the district’s most fragile children come to school with significant barriers to learning and academic success.  Their families may lack basic resources such as housing, food, preventative medical/dental care or clothing.  Their parents may be preoccupied with issues such as domestic violence, extreme poverty, joblessness, mental health diagnoses, substance abuse concerns, or debilitating illness.  These families cannot focus on supporting their children’s academic success without access to resources to address their needs and concerns.  Social Workers in the district are uniquely qualified to address these issues with families and children.  

  School Contact Name Email Number Ext.   Alphabet
. Carrboro Elementary Kerry Sherrill ksherrill@chccs.k12.nc.us 968-3652 35225  
. Chapel Hill High Teresa Pitts tpitts@chccs.k12.nc.us 929-2106 41273 A-He, Q-Z, and AVID
. Chapel HIll High Gloria Sanchez-Lane gsanchez-lane@chccs.k12.nc.us 929-2106 41278 Hi - P & ESL
. Carrboro High April Crider acrider@chccs.k12.nc.us 918-2200 25041  
. Culbreth Middle Stephanie Minter sminter@chccs.k12.nc.us 929-7161 51114  
. East Chapel Hill Brenda McNeely-Allen bmcneely-allen@chccs.k12.nc.us 969-2482 27147 A-Pa
. East Chapel Hill Shari Coveney scoveney@chccs.k12.nc.us 919-969-2482 27148 Mu-Z
. Ephesus Elementary Marne Meredith mmeredith@chccs.k12.nc.us 919-929-8715 36268  
. Estes Hills Elementary Betsy Booth bbooth@chccs.k12.nc.us 919-942-4753 30264  
. Frank Porter Graham Elementary Karen Aldridge kaldridge@chccs.k12.nc.us (919) 942-6491 37229  
. Glenwood Elementary Wendy Johnston wjohnston@chccs.k12.nc.us (919) 968-3473 38271  
.   Patty Moore pmoore@chccs.k12.nc.us (919) 968-3473 38271  
. Mary Scroggs Elementary Sue Heflin sheflin@chccs.k12.nc.us 919-918-7165 39535  
. McDougle Elementary Gloria Sanchez-Lane gsanchez-lane@chccs.k12.nc.us 919-969-2435 64380  
. McDougle Middle Lisa DeCesaris ldecesaris@chccs.k12.nc.us 933-1556 75330  
. Morris Grove Elementary Angela Snider asnider@chccs.k12.nc.us 919-918-4800 34013  
. Phillips Middle Julia Gaskell jgaskell@gmail.com 929-2188 31258  
. Pre-K/Head Start Michelle Brewington mbrewington@chccs.k12.nc.us (919)918-2153 20297  
. Rashkis Elementary Candice Norwood cnorwood@chccs.k12.nc.us (919) 918-2160 22013  
. Seawell Elementary Linda T. Williford lwilliford@chccs.k12.nc.us 919 967-4343 33271  
. Smith Middle Tina Moore tmoore@chccs.k12.nc.us 919.918.2145 21205

 

     

Contact Information

Website:
Address:
CHCCS Family Specialists
Lincoln Center
Chapel Hill, North Carolina 27515
United States